Nick Drake - Time Of No Reply (1986)

Nick Drake - Time Of No Reply (1986)



01. Time Of No Reply 02. I Was Made To Love Magic 03. Joey 04. Clothes Of Sand 05. Man In A Shed 06. Mayfair 07. Fly 08. The Thoughts Of Mary Jane 09. Been Smoking Too Long 10. Strange Meeting II 11. Rider On The Wheel 12. Black Eyed Dog 13. Hanging On A Star 14. Voice From The Mountain Nick Drake - Composer, Guitar, Guitar (Acoustic), Piano, Vocals Richard Thompson - Guitar (Electric)

Released in the mid-'80 during one of the many Drake revivals over the years, combining tracks from the original Fruit Tree box set and other outtakes unreleased until then, Time of No Reply is a fine coda to Drake's all too brief recording career. A collection of outtakes and alternate versions of more familiar songs, it parallels Pink Moon in that all songs but two are simply Drake on his own, his guitar and his voice doing all that needs to be done. The majority of the recordings come from the late '60s, from the slew of sessions and home recordings predating the release of Five Leaves Left. They still show Drake working in a touch more traditional mode, but his unmistakable vocal approach is well in place throughout. The title track itself is a gem, raising the question as to why Drake thought it unworthy for initial release, with a softly catchy chorus and sweet, reflective lyrical cast. The takes on "Man in a Shed" and "The Thoughts of Mary Jane," with Richard Thompson adding electric guitar on the latter, make for an intersting contrast to their more familiar studio incarnations. The release concludes with the "final session," four last songs recorded two years after Pink Moon, shortly before his death. The songs included on Time of No Reply should be considered demos and experiments, but there's no questioning Drake's power for understated exploration of darker moments and emotions remained. --- Ned Raggett, Rovi

download: <u>yandex</u> <u>4shared</u> <u>mega</u> <u>zalivalka</u>

<u>back</u>

Nick Drake - Time Of No Reply (1986)